Bentley Places 21 Student-Athletes on Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team

Jayson Argue
Jayson Argue

WALTHAM, Mass. - Bentley University is once again well represented on the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team. The Falcons had 21 student-athletes receive All-Academic recognition, among the highest in the conference, for the 2017-18 season.

To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team, an athlete must post a 3.0 GPA or better in all academic semesters in which his team was actively competing.

Three former Falcons who graduated in May capped their careers by earning All-Academic honors for the fourth straight time, to make it a perfect 4-4 seasons at Bentley, were goaltender Jayson Argue (Swan River, Manitoba) and forwards Ryan McMurphy (Broken Arrow, Okla.) and Andrew McDonald (New Brighton, Minn.).

Defenseman Chris Buchanan (San Jose, Calif.) and forward Matt Sieckhaus (St. Louis, Mo.), who also both graduated in May, led a group that received All-Academic recognition for a third time. That group also includes rising seniors Tanner Jago (Brandon, Manitoba), Alexey Solovyev (Moscow, Russia), Jake Bryniarski (Rochester, N.Y.) and Cody DePourcq (Penticton, B.C.).

Last season's team captain Kyle Schmidt (Menomonee Falls, Wisc.), who finished his career with the 6th most points in the program's Division I history, garnered his second All-Academic selection. As did rising juniors Connor Brassard (Fitchburg, Mass.), Brett Orr (Elkhorn, Manitoba), Aidan Pelino (Oakville, Ontario), Matt Riggleman (Milford, Mich.) and Jake Kauppila (Gurnee, Ill.).

The team's freshman class was well represented on the All-Academic team, as David Guinta (Lynnfield, Mass.), Brendan Hamblet (Hopkinton, Mass.), Charlie Marchand (Calgary, Alberta), Nick Rutligliano (Shrewsbury, Mass.), Luke Santerno (Smithers, B.C.) and Michael Zuffante (Bloomingdale, Ill.) all made the team for their freshman seasons.