Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Bentley University Falcons
146 Northeast-10 Championships
80 CoSIDA Academic All-Americas
2014 NCAA Div. II Women's Basketball National Champs
2001 NCAA Div. II Field Hockey National Champs
Women's Basketball: NCAA Record 35 NCAA tournaments

2017-18 Was a Banner Year for Bentley Student-Athletes in the Classroom

Bentley student-athletes excel in the classroom

WALTHAM, Mass. – While a few awards are still to be announced, Bentley University athletic teams and student-athletes certainly made a mark for themselves in the classroom during the 2017-18 academic year.

For the 18th and 19th consecutive semesters, Bentley topped the Northeast-10 Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll. A conference-high 369 student-athletes, representing 75.3 percent of Bentley's total student-athletes on the 22 NE10 sports, were named to the CHR following the spring semester. The Commissioner's Honor Roll represent those student-athletes who have achieved a 3.0 or better during the semester.

That came after Bentley had 389 student-athletes, 77.3 percent of the total, recognized on the Commissioner's Honor Roll following the Fall 2017 semester.

Thirteen Falcon teams saw at least 80 percent of their student-athletes qualify for the Commissioner's Honor Roll, with women's soccer (22 of 23) and field hockey (21 of 22) topping the list at 96 and 95 percent, respectively. The others at 80 or better were women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, golf, women's lacrosse, men's swimming, women's swimming, men's track and field, women's track and field, volleyball and women's tennis.

Twenty-three Bentley student-athletes were voted to the Academic All-Northeast-10 teams in their respective sports during the year. The Academic All-Conference team in golf included five players and three of those were Falcons: Brett Chatfield, Doug Kulikowski and Cal Meyers. Meyers was selected as the Northeast-10 Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award winner for men's golf for the second straight year, as the sport's premier scholar-athlete in the conference.

 Four Bentley teams received 2017-18 Team Academic Excellence Awards from the Northeast-10, which are presented to the program in each of the conference sports that achieved the highest GPA. Earning the prestigious awards were the men's golf, men's indoor track and field, men's outdoor track and field, and women's tennis teams.

Both the men's indoor and outdoor track teams have captured the honor every year since the award was created in 2010. Golf collected the award for the fifth time, having captured it in every even-numbered year, and was one of three conference championship teams to earn a Team Academic Excellence Award. Women's tennis was a first-time honoree.

Women's tennis achieved a 3.485 GPA during the 2017-18 academic year, both track teams turned in a 3.359, and golf posted a 3.430.

Twenty-one members of Bentley's Division I ice hockey team received All-Academic honors from the Atlantic Hockey Association, in recognition of having a 3.0 GPA or better in both semesters. The list included three May graduates who were honored for the fourth time: Jayson Argue, Ryan McMurphy and Andrew McDonald.

117 Bentley student-athletes received 2017-18 Academic Achievement Awards from the Division 2 Athletics Director Association for attaining a 3.5 or better GPA, with a minimum of two years of college work completed.

While Bentley saw its string of consecutive years with a CoSIDA Academic All-America® honoree halted at eight, there were five Falcon student-athletes who were selected for Academic All-District honors by the College Sports Information Directors of America: Nick Athy (football), Stephanie Mattson (women's track), Cal Meyers (golf), Ryan Richmond (men's basketball) and Max Troiani (baseball).

Twenty members of the field hockey team were named to the ZAG Division II National Academic Squad by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association. That included Katie Quilty and Rebecca Schroder, who were both honored for the fourth consecutive year. In addition, Ashley Scholten and Frankie Tossona were tabbed as ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division II Scholars of Distinction for having a cumulative GPA of at least 3.90.

Bentley field hockey was also recognized with a ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division II National Academic Team Award for having a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Bentley received a number of honors from the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association for its success in the classroom. Steph Mattson received USTFCCCA accolades for women's track, and Marianne Bartolotta, Paige Fehskens, Courtney Loughnane and Tina Touri were honored for women's cross country. The USTFCCCA All-Academic honorees for men's cross country were Ben Edwards, Seamus Higgins and Cody Murphy.

In addition, the Bentley men's and women's track and field teams both received All-Academic team recognition from the USTFCCCA for achieving at least a 3.00 GPA during the year. The Falcon men turned in the second highest GPA nationally in Division II for the fourth straight year, achieving an impressive 3.43. The Bentley women also excelled, posting a 3.45.

Both the men's and women's cross country teams received All-Academic honors for their success in the classroom during the fall 2017 semester. The men's team amassed a 3.44 GPA and the women achieved a 3.32.

Eight recently-graduated football players were named to the Hampshire Honor Society by the National Football Foundation. Those requirements include achieving a 3.2 GPA for their collegiate career and being either a starter or important reserve.

Four players from the women's lacrosse team were named to the IWLCA 2018 Zag Sports Division II Academic Honor Roll for achieving a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or greater. They were recent graduate Kathleen Gillespie and current seniors Sabrina Goebel, Jillian Keegan and Melissa Makarius. It was also revealed that Bentley was named as an IWLCA Academic Honor Squad for achieving a 3.0 or higher team GPA for the academic year.

The list of teams that received Team Academic Awards from their respective coaches associations also included baseball, men's basketball, men's swimming, women's swimming, men's tennis, women's tennis and volleyball. Men's and women's soccer will both receive similar honors from the United Soccer Coaches next month.

Kate Kaduboski, a current senior, was named a first-team Scholar All-America by the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA). Also recognized by the CSCAA, as honorable mention Scholar All-Americas, were two of Kaduboski's classmates, Brooke Jameson and Melissa Viator.

Four members of the men's basketball team, including leading scorer Ryan Richmond, were named to the NABC Honors Court by the National Association of Basketball Coaches for amassing a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher through the 2017-18 academic year.

Three members of the golf team (Cal Meyers, Brett Chatfield, Doug Kulikowski) were named to Division II Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars by the Golf Coaches Association of America. Requirements included being a junior or senior with a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2 and a stroke average of 78.0 or less.

Nine student-athletes from the women's and men's tennis teams were named an ITA Scholar-Athlete by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

Three members of the softball team – Rachel Rogers, Lea Thompson and Jordan Ballantyne – will be honored as All-America Scholar-Athletes by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association.

Matt Sanford was named to the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association's All-Academic team.