Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Bentley University Falcons
146 Northeast-10 Championships
80 CoSIDA Academic All-Americas
2014 NCAA Div. II Women's Basketball National Champs
2001 NCAA Div. II Field Hockey National Champs
Women's Basketball: NCAA Record 35 NCAA tournaments

Ouellette Places 3rd in 100 Fly at Northeast-10 Championships

Egen Ouellette
Egen Ouellette

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- Senior Egen Ouellette (West Hartford, Conn./Conard HS) had the highest finish by a member of the Bentley University men's swimming team during the second day of competition at the 2011 Northeast-10 Conference Swimming and Diving Championships Saturday at Southern Connecticut State University.

Ouellette placed third in the 100 yard butterfly in 52.75 seconds. He finished exactly a second back of Pace University's Kevin Dickson.

Freshman Peter Belanger (Andover, Mass./Andover HS) was fifth in the 400 individual medley (4:32.75) and sophomore George Go (Manila, Philippines) was sixth in the 100 backstroke (55.39). Registering eighth-place finishes during the meet's second day were freshman Philip Chan (Wilmette, Ill./New Trier HS) in the 100 breaststroke (1:02.11) and junior David Curran (Danbury, Conn./Danbury HS) in the 100 back (57.87).

In the 800 free relay, Bentley was fourth with sophomore Tyler Champagne (Orange, Conn./ Amity Reg. HS), juniors Joe Frantel (Canandaigua, N.Y./Marcus Whitman HS) and Erik Strickler (Long Valley, N.J./West Morris Central HS), and senior Chris Horan (Hanover, Mass./Boston College HS) finishing in 7:21.12.

Go, Chan and Ouellette were members of Bentley's 400 medley relay, which was fifth in 1:37.41. Swimming the anchor leg was freshman Steve Sylvia (Westerly, R.I./Westerly HS).

Southern Connecticut leads the team standings, with its two-day total of 593 giving the Owls a lead of 192 points over Bentley, the defending champion. Right behind the Falcons in the seven-team field are the College of Saint Rose (380) and Le Moyne College (376)

The three-day championships conclude Sunday with preliminaries at 10 am and the finals at 6 pm.