Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Bentley University Falcons
146 Northeast-10 Championships
80 CoSIDA Academic All-Americas
2014 NCAA Div. II Women's Basketball National Champs
2001 NCAA Div. II Field Hockey National Champs
Women's Basketball: NCAA Record 35 NCAA tournaments

Bentley Swim Teams Honored by CSCAA for Academic Success

Bentley Swim Teams Honored by CSCAA for Academic Success

WALTHAM, Mass. – The Bentley University men's and women's swimming and diving teams received Scholar All-America Team Awards from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) for their academic performance during the spring semester.

Coached by Mary Kay Samko, the Bentley Falcons were one of 51 Division II programs to have both their men's and women's teams recognized, and one of three Northeast-10 Conference programs to have both honored.

CSCAA Executive Director Greg Earhart noted "Coach Samko has made Bentley one of the nation's most recognized teams for their academics."

The women's team turned in an impressive 3.52 grade point average during the spring semester while the men's team followed up on winning the NE10 championship with a 3.28 GPA.

The CSCAA presents the Team Scholar All-America Award to swimming and diving programs who earn a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher. This is the ninth straight semester than both the Bentley men and women have been honored.

Both Bentley teams excelled in the pool as well as in the classroom, where they combined for six Academic All-Northeast-10 awards. The men, in addition to winning the conference title, turned in a third straight undefeated dual season, and the women finished second in the NE10's after an 11-0 dual season.

Founded in 1922, the CSCAA – the oldest organization of college coaches in American – is a professional organization of college swimming and diving coaches dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming and diving at the collegiate level.