Bentley Set to Host Merrimack in NE10 Semifinals on Thursday

Dylan Granat
Dylan Granat

Waltham, Mass. – The Bentley men's tennis team and Merrimack will meet on Thursday in the NE10 semifinals with a trip to Saturday's final on the line.

The match is scheduled to be played at Babson University, however the indoor site will be the Spark Fitness and Tennis Club in Andover if rain is in the forecast. The match will start at 2:00 pm at either site.

The Falcons went 7-2 in the NE10 regular season to earn the No. 2 seed in the playoffs, and were 15-7 overall in the regular season. They were ranked 6th in the latest NCAA East Region rankings. Merrimack on the other hand was 7-2 in the NE10 regular season as well and is the No. 3 seed. They defeated Stonehill 4-0 in the first round on Tuesday.

Bentley is making its 10th straight trip to the semifinals, and will be looking to make the finals for the first time since 2012. That was the third of three straight years the team made the finals, which included championships in 2010 and 2011.

Standing in its way is Merrimack, finalists the last two years. The two teams played a close match on April 23rd that saw the Warriors emerge as 4-3 winners. The teams split the six singles matches, but the difference was that Merrimack won the doubles point. For Bentley, Dylan Granat (Woodbury, N.Y./Syosset)Connor Aulson (Groveland, Mass./Pentucket) and Mauricio Fadul (Key Biscayne, Fla.) were the winners in singles.

Both squads were well represented on the NE10 All-Conference teams. The Falcons had four representatives, Aulson, Fadul, Daniel Weitz (Roslyn, N.Y./Roslyn) and Alexander Novins (Wellesley, Mass./Wellesley). Merrimack had six, with four of them freshmen.

Thursday's match will be the first meeting in the postseason between the two teams since the 2015 semifinals. They also met in the 2012 finals, among other meetings.

The other semifinal on Thursday will see the No. 1 seed Southern New Hampshire go up against the No. 4 seed Le Moyne. The two winners will meet in Saturday's final, which is hosted by the highest remaining seed.