Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Bentley University Falcons
146 Northeast-10 Championships
80 CoSIDA Academic All-Americas
2014 NCAA Div. II Women's Basketball National Champs
2001 NCAA Div. II Field Hockey National Champs
Women's Basketball: NCAA Record 35 NCAA tournaments

Maguire Top Runner for Bentley Men in Ted Owen Invitational

Sean Maguire
Sean Maguire

NEW BRITAIN, Conn. – Senior Sean Maguire (Essex, Vt./Essex HS) was the number one runner for the Bentley University men's cross country team during Saturday's Central Connecticut State University Ted Owen Invitational at Stanley Quarter Park.

Maguire was the number one Division II runner across the finish line with an 8,000-meter time of 26:42.56.

The Falcons' number two finisher was sophomore Ned Meyer Furtney (Canton, Conn./Canton HS), who returned to his home state and placed 59th out of 94 runners with a 28:20.56.

Bentley had only four finishers in the event and didn't figure in the team standings.

Northeastern University, led by individual champion Wesley Gallagher (25:29.43), took the team title with a score of 43, and the University of Connecticut followed with 58.

Bentley's next meet is the New England Championships on Oct. 7 in Westfield, Mass. 


At Stanley Quarter Park, New Britain, Conn. 

Team Standings: 1. Northeastern 43; 2. UConn 58; 3. Hartford 118, 4. Wagner 125; 5. Rhode Island 136; 6. Central Connecticut 140; 7. Marist 148; 8. Franklin Pierce 187; 9. Southern Connecticut 223, 10. Fairleigh Dickinson 241; 11. Bentley incomplete 

Top Individuals: 1. Wesley Gallagher, Northeastern, 25:29.43; 2. Antoine Gisore, Unattached, 25:29.72; 3. Ryan McGuire, UConn; 4. Steven Sollowin, Northeastern, 25:58.32; 5. Darrel Gooding, Fairleigh-Dickinson 26:02.55. 

Bentley Runners: 16. Sean Maguire, 26:42.56; 59. Ned Furtney, 28:02.56; 62. Dan Biales, 28:32.50; 90. Wyatt Allread, 30:55.89.